Type your paragraph here.


 

Reviews:


Christine C.

Awesome

5 of 5

Great time was had by all! Great place to stay if you have a large family! They have everything you need! Will come back next year!

Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
 
Stayed: Mar 2017
 

Wendy
Eustis, FL

Ladies Weekend Prayer Retreat (Best Ever!)

 5 of 5

This was our sixth year hosting our annual ladies prayer retreat with Ray and Dorothy. Here's why we come back year after year: #1 The home is unbelievably comfortable- by design. The signature of this prayer retreat is that each woman has her personal quiet time not just for an hour or two, but for the entire morning! Imagine 14-25 ladies with enough comfortable spaces to spread out throughout the house, yard, and dock so that each woman has private time uninterrupted by anyone else. And spaces comfortable enough to sit cozily and comfortably while sipping your coffee, looking at the beautiful view, journaling, reading the Bible, and praying for 3-5 hours! Only this house can provide that. #2 The beds are plentiful and better than most of us have at our own homes. Nothing second class here. Mattresses are new, pillow tops and memory foam. Many of our women have difficulties sleeping and they come back year after year because they know that they will sleep comfortably. Might as well mention the bathrooms also. They are plentiful, clean and new. No lines of women waiting to take their showers in the morning or at night. Most of the bedrooms have private bathrooms attached, but there are several full baths accessible from the common rooms as well. #3 The kitchen, living rooms, and dining areas can handle a crowd. We have teams of 4-5 women working together in the kitchen to provide each meal and there are enough counters and work areas so that they are not in each other's way. The fridge is huge- think food for 20 for three days- no problem! Ray and Dorothy are always making improvements and we enjoyed the new granite island counter this year. The dining room seats our entire group together. Once again- comfort is king- the dining room chairs are comfortable. #4 The view and the river are fantastic. The Rainbow River is one of the most well-preserved, natural and pristine resources in Florida. Sit by the fire circle (Ray had cut the wood and had it lit for us each morning), on the dock, or venture out on the pontoon boat (seats 10), tubes, kayaks, or paddle boards (plenty of each). If you never go to Disney you will have seen the best of Central Florida right in your own back yard. No need to turn on the 70" screen, but if you do, there's a DVD player and surround sound. #5 Working to make your event perfect is something that Ray and Dorothy take personally. I've run out of space- but believe me- they're the best! See you next year Ray and Dorothy!

Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
 
Stayed: Nov 2016
 

Chip R.

Fun + Relaxation on the Rainbow River

 5 of 5

This was my 3rd year staying in this fantastic home. Ray (the owner) was extremely generous as usual and asked multiple times if we were having any issues during our visit, of which we did not. In previous years I have visited with my friends and their families including about 25 of us. This year my family came in from North Carolina, Florida, and one member even flew in from Saudi Arabia after finishing some work over seas. The kids had a blast on the rope swing and in the game room as usual. My brother had a blast driving the pontoon boat, and everyone couldn't get enough of the kayaks & paddleboards. One thing to take note of is that Ray always puts back into the home. Every year he has added additional features so it is always improving year after year. He already told me what's in store for this upcoming year as well and it will once again be some exciting additions. Awesome job once again Ray!! Thank you for another memorable stay.

Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
 
Stayed: Aug 2016
 

Anonymous
Spring Lake, North Carolina

Annual Large Family Vacation

 5 of 5

Phenomenal vacation home. Owner ensured we were accommodated in every way possible. Couldn't ask for a better deal. Best part is this house comes with an actual boat you can use to go up the river. Tons of seating areas and great for large family vacations.

Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
 
Stayed: Aug 2016
 


Lillian S.

Lillian S.

 5 of 5

My sisters & I planned this vacation home as part of a surprise 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration for our parents. They were pleasantly surprised & happy when we drove up to the place. They absolutely loved it! (And we did too!) It was a great place to gather & spend quality time with each other creating long lasting memories. The property is very scenic with a beautiful view of the Rainbow River. Everything is there that you could possibly want in the house....great spacious kitchen, dining room, family room, game room, etc. Each bedroom was unique & comfortable. If you needed anything, Ray was there immediately to provide. The way he treated us was like family. It doesn't end there! During the day there are activities to keep everyone occupied. From the rope swing(which I totally enjoyed & haven't swung off one since I was a child), to the kayaks, paddle boards, floats & not to mention the pontoon boat! A couple of mornings & evening we took the pontoon boat out onto the river. It was so peaceful & beautiful enjoying the pristine spring, quietness & scenic views of the wildlife. We enjoyed our stay so much that we all didn't want it to end. I would like to come back here again in the future & want to thank Ray for such a wonderful stay! We all loved it!!

Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
 
Stayed: Jul 2016
 

A.P.
Dade City

Great place for a family reunion!

 5 of 5

Our family had a family reunion at The Rainbow River Lodge 2 years ago. All four of my adult daughters and spouses and grandchildren had such a wonderful time that they have been talking about it ever since. So we just got back from our second reunion at the lodge. What a wonderful experience we all had. The grandkids are a little older now and took full advantage of all the paddle boards, boats and tubes available for everyone to use. We made good use of the pontoon boat by taking everyone up the river and letting them float back down. We also took a late evening ride up the river and got to see all the wildlife including several otters playing in the water not far from the boat. The rope swing received a lot of action. The lodge itself was well appointed and very clean. Kudos to Dorothy and her daughter for doing such an excellent job. The numerous rooms allowed everyone to sleep comfortably in a room of their choice. The kitchen and living room and dining room were spacious with very comfortable furniture and fixtures. Quite frankly the boats and all the other toys available to explore and enjoy the river were a great bonus and made the price of the stay well worth what we paid. Needless to say we will be going back, and I highly recommend the place to anyone wanting a great place to stay on Rainbow river.

Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
 
Stayed: Jun 2016
 


Matias and Karen
Gainesville, Fl

LET THE GOOD TIMES ROLL!!

 5 of 5

What a great family reunion site! This is our second year at Ray and Dorothy’s Rainbow River Lodge. This year we were able to get some family from Europe to join us!! I’m so glad we resisted the temptation to seek another location. I for one loved being an early riser, brewing the coffee and heading out to those comfortable couches. The view of the river, from everyone’s favorite balcony was amazing. I love the serenity of that early morning fog disbursing as the egrets skim the top of the river!

There are so many highlights to this massive home, we all tended to gather in the massive dining area overlooking the river; we’d cook together either in the gourmet well equipped kitchen or hang out on the deck overlooking the river. The fans on the deck kept us all quite comfortable, frankly, I don’t have enough wonderful things to say about the Rainbow River Lodge.

This large sprawling house is perfect for our group aged 10 months to 96 years. This year we took 2 pontoon rides a day which allowed us all to see experience the larger picture of the river.

Ray and Dorothy have a clean house and you instantly feel at home. Multiple ovens and grills, ability to all dine and celebrate together made this such a perfect weekend. We were so busy last year that we missed out on the game room! This year we enjoyed a couple ping pong tournaments! Awesome!!

Ray checked on us a couple times, reminded us to have a bonfire and would check the gas supply in the pontoon boat. We now have a new tradition!! Smores Night!!

Rainbow River makes it possible to just let go, relax and enjoy the simple things in life!! Thanks for providing a great place to create some great memories!!

Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
 
Stayed: Oct 2015
 
Owner's Response: First I would like to say thank you for returning our home in such a great condition. Your group is exactly the kind of people we love to have stay with us. Everyone was friendly and got along very well together. I actually had to check to see if you guys were at the home because y'all were so quiet. Anyway we hope to see all of you again. Sincerely Dorothy and Ray



Wendy
Eustis, FL

Christian Ladies Sunday School Annual Prayer Retreat

 5 of 5

This was our fifth year staying at Ray and Dorothy Shelton's beautiful Rainbow River home. Why do we keep coming back? Simply, because there is no other place that provides us with the gracious, comfortable accommodations that we have now become spoiled by! Over the past five years we have had from 14-33 women who need a good nights sleep, plenty of room to prepare meals in a well-stocked kitchen, plenty of bathrooms (8 full!) large dining area, and most important to our purpose~ very comfortable couches, loungers, club chairs, cozy nooks and crannies where we can spread out to have mornings spent quietly in individual hours of prayer, Bible reading, and personal study. Who wants to curl up on those shaker chairs that most rentals provide? None of those at Ray and Dorothy's! The grounds and dock are gorgeous places for meditation and reflection in the morning, and we enjoy the paddle boats, kayaks, tubes, and pontoon boat rides each afternoon. There is talk about two retreats next year- our ladies prayer retreat and a second couples-only marriage retreat. Personally, I think it's a great idea. Every year we say the same thing, "This was the best year ever!" And you know, it was!

Thanks to Ray and Dorothy~ see you next year!

Submitted: Nov 9, 2015
 
Stayed: Nov 2015
 
Owner's Response: Dorothy and I are very pleased that all of you enjoy coming to our vacation home. We do try very hard to make a home away from home feeling that meets all your needs. Your review was very warm and I am sure inviting to many other families looking for a nice place to stay. Thank you again for coming and for leaving our home in such a clean and organized condition it means a lot to us. Sincerely. Dorothy and Ray



Scott R.

Nothing like it anywhere else - A real gem!

 5 of 5

The perfect blend of Comfort, uniqueness, practicality, and clean fun. I slept better, rested more deeply, and played harder than at any other time. This Woodly Castle is a one of a kind!

Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
 
Stayed: Sep 2015
 

Khanh-Lien B.

1st Annual ABFGGL River Romp

 5 of 5

Thank you, Ray for all your assistance in making our stay enjoyable. This property is perfect for all ages, and we had a range of 4 to 70. There is something for everyone. Since the home was built with a large family in mind, it provides the ideal setting for a large gathering. When the site reads bring your swim towel and snorkel gear, it means it. Everything is provided, and there is more than enough equipment for all to enjoy the water at the same time.

As an added bonus, we experienced the Florida Glass Bottom Boats for an afternoon. Ideal way to see the river, especially for the older and younger members of our family that could not snorkel or swim. They were able to come along and enjoy the river in the shade, without having to get in the water. Shawn was extremely helpful and gracious in teaching me how to operate the vessel. Highly recommend an afternoon of the glass bottom boat experience.

All of the party left wanting more and we are already planning and looking forward to the 2nd Annual ABF2GL River Romp!

Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
 
Stayed: Aug 2015
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: Dear Khan-lien That was a great review, my wife and I wish to thank you, your family and your guest for staying with us. We really appreciated the way you returned our home to us, very nice. It shows how considerate ya'll are. I see you are ready to book next year, so it will be nice to see everyone again have a great year. Glad you enjoyed the self driven Glass Bottom Boats. Thanks again, Dorothy and Ray
Did you find this review helpful? 


Ocala, FL

Raney Reunion 2015

 5 of 5

Thank you for a great week of comfort and relaxation, and for your help in making our Raney family reunion a huge success! A large group of Florida Raney family members vacations together almost every summer. But the group is growing! We were all amazed to find this spacious lodge in north-central Florida practically in our backyard. Almost a dozen bedrooms to sleep the growing families; not to mention-a great place for hide-n-seek with the little ones in the evenings. Great river activities, fishing, stand-up paddle-boarding, kayaking, pontoon-boat cruising, or just tubing or swimming and relaxing in the refreshingly cool clear water. Plenty of room for all the family participants. And a great rope-swing for the adventurers in the group. A beautiful large kitchen, gas grills & the fire pit for roasting marsh mellows in the evening inside the large plush screened patio. Or you can do the marsh mellows outside on a bonfire down by the water’s edge. We enjoyed all the bedrooms (and numerous bathrooms – 8 or 9?). But mostly just enjoyed finding a place big enough and close-by where we could all be together under one roof! Truly Amazing!

Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
 
Stayed: Aug 2015
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: It was an honor having your big family at our Vacation Home. Everyone was so nice to talk to. My wife was very happy to see how clean you left our home. If I can be of assistance in any way please do not hesitate to call me. Hope to see all of you next year. Ray



Jeffrey
Coral Springs, Florida

The Most Serene Lodge on Earth

 5 of 5

Many things are beautiful....The Rainbow River is majestic. Experiencing this natural treasure can only be done at the Rainbow Lodge. Whether your first morning activity is coffee, reading, prayer or just watching the world come alive...there is no more serene place to do it from that the spacious balcony lined with worlds most comfortable couches. After a day on this splendid river, resting and family leisure time in one of the many parlors or the game room or the vast riverside deck or the roof top terrace is the cherry on top of the vacation sunday! The beds, and there are so many to choose from we like to sleep in different rooms each night are so comfortable and inviting that you hardly want to get out of them in the morning. However, with a gourmet kitchen the likes of which are only found in mansions, you will hurry to get a spot at the kitchen bar or one of two massive outdoor dining room tables that overlook the river and recreation area. Our family books this lodge each year and every summer we enjoy the best quality time with each other because of the environment. It is welcoming, clean, eccentric, warm and speaks to your soul! Rainbow lodge, your hospitality is bar none the best anywhere we go and your amenities are like no others. See you next year.

Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
 
Stayed: Jul 2015
 

Owner's Response: To the Needled, Jeff, that review topped all your other reviews and I don't even know how to respond to such a warm and kind review. You and your family are a complete pleasure to have stay at our place. Blessing to all, Dorothy and Ray



Karen B.

Family Reunion

 5 of 5

What a wonderful stay for our family. Large kitchen for all to be in to rooms that are decorated by theme. We enjoyed the boat, tubes, kayaks and paddle boards. If we weren't in the kitchen we were on the water! Thank you for meeting our needs ; )

Submitted: Jul 9, 2015
 
Stayed: Jul 2015
 

Owner's Response: Thank you Karen. Loved having all of you. Great group. Ray



Jeff
Lakeland, FL

Fun with friends

 5 of 5

Four families with 15 people meet for a long weekend at the Shelton's. Ray was incredibly accommodating. How many people do you know who would offer to pick up your pizzas that you ordered, or offer to get you oysters while he was in Crystal River. The house is super roomy, comfortable, and has everything you could possibly need for a weekend away. The kids and adults loved tubing, kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing, boating, swimming and snorkeling. When the kids had enough sun they would come in and enjoy the game room. The kids where exhausted when we returned home. We have so many great memories. The adults also where pleased. Lots of time spent in the outdoor sitting area, fire pit, dock, pontoon boat chairs. Just a great relaxing time. Ray's place was a big hit. We plan on making this an annual event. Highly recommended. Thanks Ray.

Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
 
Stayed: Jun 2015
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Owner's Response: You have a great group and you returned our home is perfect condition. I could certainly see that you guys had a great time. Hope to see all of you next year. Thanks again Dorothy and Ray


Crystal R.

Church Ladies' Retreat

 5 of 5

25 ladies from The Tabernacle of Tampa Bay just had an amazing weekend at the Shelton's Rainbow River Lodge. From the moment we arrived, Ray was there to make sure our every need was met. This home is so much more than words can describe! It is difficult to find a place that keeps 25 women happy, but this home did it and more! Our group of ladies needed some time away from our daily responsibilities to unwind, get to know one another better, pray and worship. All those things were accomplished, so much so that the men of our church are returning in the Fall (they are just a "little" jealous). The house has so much room to spread out that we never felt on top of each other. We were able to have all of our devotions and times of worship, TOGETHER, in the living room. Many of us stayed up into the wee hours of the morning playing games in the very large dinning room. The big Lazy Susan in the middle of the table was a HUGE hit! The kitchen is amazing! We had some amazing times preparing meals together. The kitchen had everything we needed and more! The beds are extremely comfortable. The outdoor play kept us busy every day. Almost all of us jumped from the rope swing at least once. The pontoon boat, kayaks, paddle boards and tubes allowed for some great times on the river. Even got caught in a thunderstorm but loved every minute of it (it's what memories are made of). The entire house was extremely clean and well appointed. Dorothy does an amazing job at keeping this enormous home clean and fresh. I personally have stayed at many VRBO homes, and this one was the most well taken care of and stocked, by far. The Shelton's truly seek to serve their guests and make their stay as problem free as possible. Will definitely be back and would recommend this property to any large family or group. Thanks so much Ray and Dorthy for your hospitality and kindness. God Bless you, your family and your home!

Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
 
Stayed: May 2015
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We enjoyed having all of you and hope to see y'all next year. Thank you for the thoughtful way you gave our home back to us. Dorothy and Ray



Rhonda A.

BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

 5 of 5

My family had a reunion here for memorial weekend, we had 28 adults and 8 children, our stay was simply amazing!!! Ray Shelton was so accommodating, the house was truly a dream!!! I definitely would recommend this for large groups/families. Waking up on Rainbow River was magical! We will absolutely rent this home again!!

Submitted: May 27, 2015
 
Stayed: May 2015
 

Owner's Response: Dear Ronda, Ron and Kenny Thank you for staying with us, it was pleasure working with you and your guest. In fact your group really took care of our home and we appreciate that very much. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Hope to see you all next year. Thanks again. Dorothy and Ray Shelton



becky r.
Bushnell, FL

Women's Prayer Retreat

 5 of 5

I just experienced an incredible weekend prayer retreat in this inviting river hideaway! There were 19 ladies..one of our women was in a wheelchair, and was easily accommodated. This large home could have easily slept more!! Everything was just as described..extremely clean and inviting. The Rainbow River is extremely pristine and right out the back door! I left feeling rested and refreshed. We hope to come back next year..thanks Ray for always working with our group!!

Submitted: Nov 18, 2014
 
Stayed: Nov 2014
 

Owner's Response: You guys were fantastic. Please come again we enjoyed having all of you. Great job on the return of home. Thanks again, Dorothy and Ray



Matias and Karen
Gainesville, Fl

RAINBOW RIVER AT IT'S BEST!!!

 5 of 5

Now this is the place for that family gathering! We gathered for a 30/40/95 birthday celebration! The family came together from South Carolina, Washington DC, Laguna Beach, Santa Cruz and Tuscon. These folks love world travel and what a surprise to them that this magical place could make it to their USA top 10 list! We found this to be a spacious house with lots of character and the perfect place for everyone. There were private nooks and crannies if you wanted it, but we chose to spend most moments all together and this house allowed us to do just that! Plenty of comfortable seating whenever you wanted it! On Saturday, Gator fans sat in front of the 60+" tv and enjoyed the football game, while others escaped for a paddle up river! After the game some of the group ventured out on the pontoon boat while others played on the rope swing. After dinner we enjoyed a bonfire, roasted marshmallows and wow the best smores ever!!! As owners of Aquatropics in Gainesville, our vacations MUST include water. Just 40 minutes from home, I think we found our favorite destination. Our multigenerational group ranged from age 3months to 95. A 95 year old with a walker, an adult with spina bifida and 2 children under 2, this house definitely accommodated our challenges and everyone was able to get out on the crystal clear river! The ramps were just the ticket!! As we packed up our bags Monday morning, dressed and ready to get back to our homes and jobs, the river called to us for one final paddle up the river so we all slipped back into our gear and our reward was spying 2 otters playing along the shore sharing a fish! Rainbow River at its best!! Visit and stay in Ray and Dorothy’s home away from home, you won’t regret it and you might just find what your soul has been looking for!!! Thank you Ray and Dorothy for a wonderful memory, we’re looking forward to creating many more! Matias, Karen and family

Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
 
Stayed: Sep 2014
 

Owner's Response: Thank you for that beautiful review, Words like yours are very comforting because it tells all of us that we are doing a good job in the way we care for our special guest. I can't wait to visit your store in Gainesville again, its the best place that I have ever seen, what a great variety of tropical fish and plants. Good luck in the coming year. See you soon Ray and Dorothy



Jordan
Tampa, FL

Amazing Corporate Retreat

 5 of 5

Ray gave us a great deal on this amazing property. We had 45+ of our company's co-workers stay there for about 3 nights and we had such a good time. We never had to leave and there was plenty of room/activities for everyone! Ray was very accommodating and was there if we needed anything. We will definitely be coming back and several of our team members have stated that they'd love to come back there with their families during the holidays as well.

Submitted: Aug 31, 2014
 
Stayed: May 2014
 

Mimi
Port St. Lucie, Florida

Mighty happy that all of us could return this year

 5 of 5

Once again you out did yourselves Ray and Dorothy - everything held it's feeling of "magic", comfort and adventure as we settled in and "hit the water" on all of your fabulous water toys! Being there allows everyone to kick back and thoroughly enjoy just being with each other. Happily we had my 18 month old great grandson with us and he definitely held court and brought us such joy as he took in the wonder of your wonderful home,

Your rental home should be on everyone's bucket list as it is like no other with everything to offer from A-Z!! Thank you for our wonderful time and we are sure to return!! Mary and family.

Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
 
Stayed: Jun 2014
 


A.P.
Dade City

Absolutely Magical

 5 of 5

My extended family of 19 members,including 7 grandchildren, spent 3 days in the Shelton home on the Rainbow River, and it proved to be a wonderful experience. Ray and his family made us feel welcome and assisted us in getting settled in. The home has lots of room including about a dozen bedrooms and was obviously capable of comfortably sleeping many more people than my crew. The large bedroom with 6 or 8 bunk beds was a real hit with the grand kids. Both the Rainbow River and the Shelton's large spacious home were truly magical places. The Rainbow River should be on everyone's bucket list. It's beauty is truly awe inspiring. The highlight of the trip was the availability of all the equipment furnished by the owner. There were at kayaks,paddle boards and tubes galore, enough for everyone to be on the river at the same time, if we wanted to. The pontoon boat was a real plus and allowed us to take everyone up the river where they could float back down on the colorful tubes. The trip was well worth the price of admission, and we plan to go back.

Submitted: Jun 15, 2014
 
Stayed: Jun 2014
 


Kris
Orlando

Cru Retreat

 5 of 5

What a fabulous place to stay!! Not only was the property clean with the latest amenities, but the outdoor fun was more than you can get anywhere else. Kayaks, paddle boards, pontoon, rope swing, swimming, fire pit, etc. It was the perfect setting for our group. Ray the owner was also available 24/7 to meet any need that we had. I highly recommend this place for a getaway, a family vacation, a work retreat, a group of friends, really for anyone who wants a fun vacation. There was no need to go anywhere else as all the fun was to be had there! You won't be disappointed!

Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
 
Stayed: Jun 2014
 


Jordan K.
Lake Forest, California

Phenomenal

 5 of 5

I took our corporate group of 40 here for a weekend to celebrate their hard work. This was the perfect place! Plenty of space, lots of activities to keep everyone occupied, and Rays service to our team was great. We will definitely be coming back. The pictures seriously don't even do it justice.

Submitted: May 29, 2014
 
Stayed: May 2014
 


Roger W.
Charlotte, NC

Amazing!

 5 of 5

Finally a house that lives up to its billing. I have never seen a place so perfect for a large groups. Tons of beds, tons of bathrooms, big common areas and a huge dining patio. Plus the activities are endless although the bumper pool table in the master suite is a little over the top. The owner was always available and responsive. The only thing it needs is basic cable in case a golf tournament or playoffs are on. However, it was nice to be secluded from the media for a few days. We were on a golf trip an spent most of our time away but I am seriously considering it for a 12 adult, 10 kid family reunion next year. Plenty of room for everyone without being on top of one another! Thanks for a great week!

Submitted: May 21, 2014
 
Stayed: May 2014
 

Pell
Jacksonville, Fl

WONDERFUL!

 5 of 5

My husband and I got married but never had a get together of any kind. We think wedding receptions are overrated AND pricey but family meant a lot to both of us so we were trying to think of a way to bring our closest family members together. Then I found this rental....oh my goodness we were excited! We each invited 12 people from each side.

Once we arrived to the house we ALL turned into kids!! Everyone was so excited and so in awe of the house. Let me tell you, when I say this house is amazing I absolutely mean it is amazing! Ray the owner and his wife keeps up with the rental so well that it felt like the house was just built, it was so clean everywhere. The house was just so fun and inviting. I loved that there was no awkward moment between the families, there were so many rooms and so many things to do that we never felt like we were just looking at each other. Everyone did their own thing. The fact that you are allowed to use all the water toys is a huge plus because the first thing you want to do when you get there is jump in the water!

On another note Ray and his wife were pretty awesome themselves. He made absolute sure that we had everything we needed and if there was anything lacking he was very quick to make us happy (even though there was nothing).

On the last day, before we even left the house, everyone was already asking when we were coming back! We had such an amazing time there, it will forever be one of my husband's and I favorite memories <3

We will definitely be coming back!!!!

I do apologize for the late review on this. I was pregnant and had my baby pretty quickly after this visit so if anyone has a newborn, you know it consumes your world. But I had to come back and write a review about the amazing time we had. Thank you Ray for everything!

Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
 
Stayed: Sep 2013
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: Dear Kristine, Thank you for that beautiful review, we are very happy that you and your family enjoyed our Vacation Rental for such a special time in your life. As I have said before, we are going to make our clients happy and satisfied no matter what it takes. Reviews like yours not only help us to do better but it also helps other family leaders with their decision on where to take their families on special events like yours. We are also very pleased that we are large enough to handle big gatherings that enables family and friends to be together in one comfortable place. Thanks again and please have a wonderful year. The Shelton's



Helen

Most awesome experience!

 5 of 5

This was a family get together celebrating my Dad's 80th birthday. We had people from Fla., Atlanta area, Savannah, and Nashville attending. We have done the hotel/motel thing before but to have all 30 of us under the SAME ROOF was absolutely wonderful and made all the difference in the world. I have never heard so many "Wows" in my life. The house was great and there was so much to do that we never had to leave...except for the golfers who went to a nearby golf course one morning. Ray is a most gracious host; I felt like the quality of our stay was REALLY important to him as he made every effort to make sure we had everything we needed or wanted; including the charcoal grill which he went out and BOUGHT because I didn't want to use either of the 2 propane ones that he had. He said "call me if you need anything," and we did and he never made us feel like we were bothering him but more like he was just there to answer our call and do whatever we asked of him (except hand over the keys to the sportscar.) His wife is so sweet with the easiest smile and his son is great. The property is so conducive for family interaction. There is something for everyone to do; the gaming stuff inside, all the water toys (pontoon boat, paddle boards, kayaks, tubes, rope swing, etc;) fire-pit outside, basketball hoop in a big white sandy area and the water in the river is crystal clear. An amazing experience! Thank you Ray and family!

Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
 
Stayed: Mar 2014
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: Dear Helen, Thank you for selecting our home to celebrate such a special event. It was nice to see so many people enjoying our waterfront home and we hope you do return someday soon. Thank you for returning the home is such a clean condition, it shows how considerate everyone was towards our place and that meant a great deal to us. The Shelton's



Amanda W.

PERFECT for Memorial/Bereavement & Large Family Gathering

 5 of 5

We brought 26+ members of my family together from all over the country - on VERY short notice for a memorial service and gathering. This location proved to be ideal and earned rave reviews from our group - including my 90yr old grandparents who had a private room and bath. 2 hr drive from Tampa/Orlando/DaytonBeach airports. Grocery stores within 10 min drive for any supplies needed. Hosts were highly responsive, and accommodated every need including buying a crib for my brother's baby and putting it together for us. We truly had nothing to worry about except getting everyone there and remembering to bring food and a few beach towels. (Ray even offered to cater so we could have skipped the food!)

We actually conducted my Dad's memorial service on the beach, looking over the Rainbow River (which is the most beautiful river imaginable - lazy current & CLEAR.) We had a campfire that went late into the evening singing songs and telling stories. Everyone went tubing at least twice! and enjoyed the 2 pontoons and all the kayaks and paddle-boards. The rope swing was a HUGE Hit. We laughed, cried, played, relaxed, and enjoyed an incredibly memorable weekend together as a family celebrating Dad's life. I don't know that the river edge is the ideal spot for small children (I would have worried a bit about the water chasing my own 3 yr old who wasn't there.) but for older kids/teens/adults it makes Disney World seem second-rate. Unforgettable and priceless experience for our family. This is not a snobby five star hotel - But, if you have a group that is easy going, willing to share a bedroom or sleep on a pull-out couch as required... and knows how to relax/get along with each other and have fun - you will LOVE this spot. We hope to return again under better circumstances!

Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
 
Stayed: Oct 2013
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: Our sincerest condolences are with all of you. Glad we could be there for you and yours with the appropriate setting and accommodations. Thank you for the beautiful review, I am sure it will help many families in their time of need. Dorothy and Ray Shelton



Kate
Tampa, FL

Corporate Retreat on Rainbow River

 4 of 5

I recently stayed at this property for four days with about 25 of my co-workers. We were there for a team building retreat and the cohabitation really facilitated camaraderie. This property was more than large enough to accommodate all of us comfortably, and with all of the games, personal kayaks, paddle boards and inner tubes provided we were far from bored.

The river is beautiful and we spent most of our time on the personal beach behind the house. The rope swing was a real highlight. We all felt like we were on a vacation with friends rather than on a retreat for work--this house definitely had something to do with that.

Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
 
Stayed: Oct 2013
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: Great group of people and I loved the Corporate team organization skills, plus you guys did a great job of giving us back a very clean home. We are already planning to use the caterers you found. They had delicious meals, thanks for the dinner invite and for sharing some of the meals with our family. Hope to see all of you again. Ray Shelton



Mimi
Port St. Lucie, Florida

Fun filled magical time

 5 of 5

23 of us arrived to find a warm and gracious greeting by Ray as he gave us "The Tour" we were spellbound at all the rooms, levels,nooks and amenities - It was like going on a safari!,, We had such a fun time choosing our rooms - then we saw all of the incredible toys to play with on the river. We couldn't have asked for a more magical family vacation spot - we never left, we had brought all the necessary food to live like royalty and we when weren't on the water we were happily cooking in the awesome kitchen or crashed throughout on their comfy couches and lounge chairs! We hated to leave and will definitely be back as all of us agreed we have never had a better time anywhere else! Thank you Ray and Dorothy.

Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
 
Stayed: Jul 2013
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: Dear Mary, We love reading reviews like this one, it brings good feeling to all of us who try very hard to make your stay a wonderful time to remember. But it is my loving wife Dorothy and beautiful daughter Victoria who insist on presenting all of you the cleanest vacation home possible and it reflects in our reviews and our repeat clients. You, your friends and your family are exceptional people who clearly understood what it meant to gather at such an important time in your lives, I am so very pleased that you found us and stayed with us. Ray, Dorothy & Victoria Shelton



Mario M.
Miami

Awesome place, dream vacation and the nicest owner

 5 of 5

We had teenagers and small kids in our party and all of them and the adults had so much fun that we are already talking about coming back.

We wish we could have stayed longer, so much to do, so many amenities that 5 days was not enough. The river is pristine and the house is amazing.

Shelton is a very nice person and would go to any length to make you feel comfortable and happy.

Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
 
Stayed: Aug 2013
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: Thanks guys, great review... looking forward to seeing all of you real soon. Two more tons of pure puffy white beach sand has been put in and is working out great for everyone. The new bigger more stable paddle boards and kayaks are here and we have two new professional basketball hoops. Thanks again for a great review. Ray